Adult Education

The Adult Education Program is designed to meet the needs of the adult learner who wishes to increase employability skills, develop computer and financial literacy, earn a high school diploma equivalency, learn English, or improve basic skills in reading, math and language.



Mission Statement

Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus Adult Education is committed to motivating and encouraging our students to continue their education and to function as a competent member of society.



General Information

The Arkansas Tech University-Ozark Campus Adult Education is fully approved and funded by Arkansas Department of Career Education -- Adult Education Division.



Program Options

Adult Education is available to those students who require the Arkansas High School Diploma or who are post high school and require training or retraining for employment.  Adult Education serves all ages 16 and up.

Basic Skills Enhancement provides a review of academic areas for the high school graduate in need of upgrading skills to enter higher education, military, or the workforce.

English as a Second Language (ESL) allows adults to learn to speak, read, and write English as their second language.

Workplace Alliance for Growth in the Economy (WAGE) Certification allows students to obtain certification through the State of Arkansas in six certification areas: Employability, Customer Service I, Customer Service II, Bank Teller, Office Technology, and Industrial.

Integrated Education and Training allows students to obtain nationally recognized certifications that are applicable to different types of employment.  IET programs also offer pathways to earn certifications that will be accepted as college credit.

Workplace classes may be arranged with local businesses or industries to upgrade employees' basic skills needed on the job. Contact (479) 667-3520 for more information.

Adult Education Program Director

Regina Olson
West Annex
(479) 667-3520
rolson2@atu.ed



Locations

Booneville-Logan County Adult Education Center
2932 State Hwy. 10 East
Booneville, AR 72927
(479) 675-4326

Instructor: Christy McCollough
cmccollough@atu.edu

Clarksville-Johnson County Adult Education Center
400 West Cherry Street
Clarksville, AR 72830
(479) 754-2620

FT Instructor: Shirley Freeman
sfreeman30@atu.edu
 
FT Instructor: Jessica Pipkins
jpipkins@atu.edu

PT Afternoon Instructor:  Carole Harmon
charmon@atu.edu

PT Afternoon Instructor and JCDC Instructor:  Karen Kirby
kkirby@atu.edu

PT Evening Instructor: Carla Suiter
csuiter1@atu.edu

FT Administrative Specialist III: Carla Murphy-White
cmurphy7@atu.edu

PT Paraprofessional: Cristina Cuevas
ccuevas@atu.edu

PT Paraprofressional: Maria Montelongo
mmontelongo1@atu.edu

Ozark-Franklin County Adult Education Center
1700 Helberg Lane
Ozark, AR 72949
(479) 667-3520

Director/Instructor: Regina Olson
rolson2@atu.edu

FT Instructor:  Emily Morrow
emorrow@atu.edu

PT Instructor:  Carole Harmon
charmon@atu.edu

SNAP Employment and Training Coordinator: Sherry Hesson
shesson@atu.edu

Paris-Logan County Adult Education Center
Tyson Logan County Career Center
2008 East Wood Street
Paris, AR 72855
(844) 963-3243 ext. 5111

FT Instructor: James Anderson
janderson@atu.edu